Wednesday, 30 December 2015

Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer

Life is strange for Patrick Fort - being a medical student with Asperger’s Syndrome doesn’t come without its challenges. And that’s before he is faced with solving a possible murder. 

Because the body Patrick is examining in anatomy class is trying to tell him all kinds of things. And now he must stay out of danger long enough to unravel the mystery – while he dissects his own evidence...

I would like to thank the author, publisher and Netgalley for allowing me to read this book. 

I unfortunately couldn't get into it and found the characters rather dull and disillusioned for me to understand where they were going. I felt like there was 2 main characters vying for my attention in the story. I couldn't grasp the concept.

Sorry to others who've enjoyed the book.

Love, Lies and Lemon Cake by Sue Watson

Love, Lies and Lemon Cake is a hilarious, bittersweet comedyabout taking your life back before it’s too late. 

Faye Dobson has lost her sparkle. Living on film star fantasies and vague memories of a marriage that once was, she can’t help feeling that life is passing her by. She dreams of being whisked to Paris for dinner, making three wishes at the Trevi fountain and having sex under the stars. But the wrinkles are multiplying, her husband’s passion is for plumbing, and the nearest she’ll get to Rome is a take-away pizza. 

So when Faye meets Dan the gorgeous Australian surfer guy working in the local deli she can’t help but wonder what it would be like to see the world. He is blonde, tanned, ten years younger and bakes the most amazing lemon cake. Unlike her husband Dan actually listens to Faye, his smile makes her feel fizzy inside, and when he smiles... Oh. My. God. 

But is Faye being silly? What would Dan see in someone like her? Even if he did have feelings for her, could she give up everything to be with him? 

I would like to thank the author Sue Watson and publisher Bookouture and Netgalley for allowing to read and review this book.

I want to say this is the first book I've read by Sue Watson and it certainly won't be the last. I loved the characters and the way the story twisted around a middle aged woman and what she wants. I would never of thought doing a Living List and that certainly gives me ideas of what I want to do with my life. I am also a middle aged woman (wouldn't believe me if you saw me lol). But the way Faye and Dan fall for each other is immense and I loved the places Faye wants to go and explore. Fiesty woman and so down to earth.

Can't wait to read more and carry on storytelling Sue Watson.

Tuesday, 29 December 2015

NYPD Red 3 (NYPD Red #3) by James Patterson & Marshall Karp


NYPD Red is the elite, highly trained task force assigned to protect the rich, the famous, and the connected. And Detective Zach Jordan and his partner Kylie MacDonald-the woman who broke his heart at the police academy-are the best of the best, brilliant and tireless investigators who will stop at nothing to deliver justice. 

Zach and Kylie's New Year's celebrations are cut short when they're called to the home of billionaire businessman Hunter Alden, Jr. after he makes a grisly discovery in his townhouse garage. When Alden's teenage son goes missing soon afterwards, and his father seems oddly reluctant to find him, Zach and Kylie find themselves in the middle of a chilling conspiracy that threatens everyone in its wake-especially their city's most powerful citizens. NYPD Red 3 is the next sensational novel in James Patterson's explosive new series, a thriller that goes behind the closed doors of New York high society and into the depths of depravity. 

I would like to thank the authors and publisher for allowing me to read this book. It's the 3rd in the NYPD Red series which was as explosive as usual.

I'm still not keen on Detective Kylie MacDonald as I find her quite harsh and obnoxious with Detective Zach Jordan. But the storyline was good and loved watching it unravel. The new book is out in the New Year, which I can't wait to read more antics of the NYPD Red series.

Sunday, 20 December 2015

A Christmas Gift by Stella Wilkinson

Holly and Caleb had been best friends as children, growing up on the same street, but as teenagers they couldn't be further apart. When Caleb unexpectedly asked Holly to help him pick out a Christmas gift for his girlfriend, neither of them anticipated where it would lead. 
A young adult romantic comedy, from Stella Wilkinson, acclaimed author of The Flirting Games Series. 

I would like to thank the author for writing this short story. It's a great Christmas book for in between books. It brings the joy of what teenagers go through when you fall in love with a childhood sweetheart and they don't notice you.

I found this book by accident and needed something to read in between my books. I loved the way the story went and that it was a fun book to read as well.

Will definitely be looking to read more Stella Wilkinson books in the future.

Saturday, 19 December 2015

Yesterday's Shadow by Eris Berresford

We all have secrets... things from the past that shape our lives and make us who we are. Successful author, Bastian Crow has a secret: something dark and disturbing. It is a secret someone wants him to keep hidden. They have killed three times to ensure it's secrecy... and Bastian Crow is next.

I would like to thank the author for allowing me to read her novel. Also for a friend who recommended this terrific book to me as well.

I found there was a few grammatical errors and maybe some spelling mistakes. But nothing to hold back the impact the book had for me. I found the characters rather intriguing and wondered at times where the book was leading. I will say that it had me stumped at the beginning wondering what Bastian Crow had to do with the story in the sense of why he was next. But as the story carried on, I found myself thinking I knew where it was and what was meant to happen. What is Bastian Crow hiding, you will have to read this book to find out the secrets :D

I found the author to be believable and loved her 1st novel. I hope she continues to write more and if she does, I hope it's as good as her 1st.

Thursday, 10 December 2015

Shtum by Jem Lester

Powerful, darkly funny and heart-breaking, Shtum is a story about fathers and sons, autism, and dysfunctional relationships.

Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son Jonah has severe autism and Ben and his wife, Emma, are struggling to cope.

When Ben and Emma fake a separation - a strategic decision to further Jonah's case in an upcoming tribunal - Ben and Jonah move in with Georg, Ben's elderly father. In a small house in North London, three generations of men - one who can't talk; two who won't - are thrown together.

A powerful, emotional, but above all enjoyable read, perfect for fans of THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME.

I would like to thank Netgalley and the publishers for allowing me to read and understand this book.

I have an Autistic daughter who's been recently diagnosed on ASD. It's opened my eyes to the wonders of my daughter and all her friends. I loved how it shows that Autism can be inherited but years has gone by before anyone has realised.

I found the book really eye opening and thought provoking as you see in the eyes of other parents and the struggles they go through daily. Makes you realise to never judge a person/book by what you 1st see.